PSA– Public Service Announcements

SUGGESTIONS ON HOW TO ENHANCE YOUR PSA EXPERIENCE WITH EUGENE/SPRINGFIELD/COTTAGE GROVE RADIO STATIONS

Please refer to the EARS PSA Directors directory below. Remember that these PSA Directors get a lot of requests for PSA airtime. You need to stand out if you want them to invest in your project in the week or two before your event.

  1. Submit your PSA 1-sheet flyer to them no later than two weeks before the event…and be sure to include an “end air date” if there is one.
  2. Include a produced 30-second PSA if you have it available, but most stations want to do the PSA in their own style and voices.
  3. Call the day before you are going to send the email, if possible, to put a “face” on you and your event. You will likely get voicemail but leave a brief message anyway. They get buried in PSA requests, so do everything you can to stand out.
  4. One 1-sheet:
    a. Put your logo, if possible, at the top of the page with your contact info
    b. Create a 36-word Lead Paragraph of the most important things you need to communicate.
    c. Below that, bullet list brief statements that cover:
    - Who
    - What
    - When
    - Where
    - Why
    - And HOW YOU WANT THE LISTENER TO RESPOND
  5. Add your contact information, so they can easily contact you if they have questions.

PSA Director Contact List

Station or Group PSA Contact Email Phone

McKenzie River Broadcasting Pat Macy and Tracy Berry 541-484-9400 tracy@kknu.com
La Que Buena- Hispanic Lupe 541-484-9400
Cumulus Media Al Scott 541-284-8500 al.scott@cumulus.com
Bicoastal Media Rob Holloway and Bill London 541-485-1120 eugenepsa@bicoastalmedia.com
KKNX Classic Rock Susan Mielke 541-342-1012 susan@radio84.com
KEED Classic Country Susan Mielke 541-342-1012 susan@radio84.com
KRVM Debi Starr and Joan Stempniak 541-790-6682 stempniak_j@4j.lane.edu debi@krvm.org
KLCC Sallie Holloman  541-463-6000  hollomans@lanecc.edu
KNND - Cottage Grove Lynell Thomas 541-942-2468 lynell@knnd.com
KWVA - UO Charlotte Nisser  541-346-5098  cnisser@uoregon.edu
KXOR- Hispanic Charo Schaeffer 541-234-2642 charo@zionmultimedia.com
KORE Fox Sports Radio Steve Woodward 458-201-8099 steve@foxsportseugene.com
KEPW  Jeff Harrison 541-579-2003 traffic@kepw.org
EARS Association Peter Powell 541-729-2689